Dr.A.S.Kalra Astrologer

Indian Vedic Astrology or Jyotish

sample birthchart

Indian Vedic Astrology or Jyotish

Indian Vedic Astrology or Jyotish: -

Indian Vedic astrology, also known as Jyotish, is an ancient system of astrology that originated in India thousands of years ago. Vedic astrology is deeply rooted in Hindu philosophy and the Vedas, which are ancient sacred texts of knowledge.

Here are some key aspects and principles of Vedic astrology:

Sidereal Zodiac: Vedic astrology uses the sidereal zodiac, which is based on the actual positions of the constellations. It considers the fixed stars and their relationship to the Earth's position to determine the zodiac signs.

Twelve Houses: Similar to Western astrology, Vedic astrology divides the birth chart into twelve houses, representing different areas of life such as personality, wealth, relationships, career, and spirituality.

Planetary System: Vedic astrology recognizes nine main celestial bodies or grahas, including the Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangala), Mercury (Budha), Jupiter (Guru), Venus (Shukra), Saturn (Shani), Rahu (North Lunar Node), and Ketu (South Lunar Node). These grahas are believed to have specific influences on individuals and can be placed in different houses and signs in the birth chart.

Ascendant and Moon Sign: The Vedic birth chart places great importance on the Ascendant (Lagna) and Moon sign (Rashi). The Ascendant represents the individual's physical body, appearance, and overall approach to life, while the Moon sign reflects the emotional nature and mind.

Dasha System: Vedic astrology employs a unique system called dashas, which are planetary periods that influence various stages of life. The dasha system is based on the position and strength of specific planets at the time of birth and helps predict major life events and cycles.

Remedies and Predictions: Vedic astrology offers remedies, known as upayas, to mitigate negative planetary influences and enhance positive energies. These remedies can include wearing gemstones, performing rituals, practicing specific mantras, or following certain lifestyle recommendations. Vedic astrologers also provide predictions and guidance regarding various aspects of life based on the birth chart analysis.

Karma and Reincarnation: Vedic astrology is deeply connected to the concepts of karma and reincarnation. It suggests that our current life is influenced by past actions (karma) and that the birth chart reflects the karmic patterns and lessons we are meant to experience in this lifetime.

Vedic astrology is highly regarded in Indian culture and is often consulted for important life decisions, marriage compatibility, career choices, and overall life guidance. It has its own set of rules, calculations, and interpretations that have been passed down through generations.

It's worth noting that while Vedic astrology holds significant cultural and spiritual value, it is not recognized as a scientific or empirical discipline by the scientific community.