Dr.A.S.Kalra Astrologer

Rahu in Jyotish

sample birthchart

Rahu in Indian Astrology


In Indian Vedic astrology, Rahu is considered a shadow planet, also known as a "Chaya Graha." Rahu does not have a physical existence but is a sensitive point in the celestial sphere that represents the lunar north node. It is often associated with mystery, illusion, and worldly desires. Rahu is believed to be the head of a celestial serpent that swallows the Sun and the Moon, causing eclipses. It is associated with the principle of desire, ambition, obsession, and materialistic pursuits. Rahu's influence is considered strong and intense, and it can create both positive and negative effects in an individual's life. Rahu is known as a malefic planet in Vedic astrology, representing challenges, obstacles, and worldly attachments. Its influence is often associated with sudden changes, unexpected events, and unconventional experiences. Rahu is believed to amplify desires and can lead to excessive ambition, greed, and materialistic tendencies if not balanced. The placement of Rahu in the birth chart, known as the Rahu sign, provides insights into an individual's karmic lessons, desires, and areas of growth. Rahu's influence can indicate the areas of life where an individual may experience obsessions, cravings, or challenges related to material success and worldly pursuits. It can also bring opportunities for spiritual growth and transformation. Rahu's transit, or movement through the zodiac, is believed to have a significant impact on individuals. Its transit over specific houses in the birth chart can bring sudden changes, ups and downs, and transformative experiences. Rahu's influence can trigger karmic events and lessons that help individuals evolve and learn. Devotion and worship of Rahu, such as reciting Rahu mantras or performing rituals on Saturdays or during Rahu Kalam (an inauspicious time associated with Rahu), are believed to appease its energies and mitigate its challenging effects. Wearing a gemstone called a "Rahu Ratna," such as a hessonite garnet or gomedh, is also considered beneficial for balancing Rahu-related influences. It's important to note that the interpretation and impact of Rahu in an individual's life can vary depending on its placement in the birth chart and its interactions with other planets. Consulting with a knowledgeable Vedic astrologer can provide a more personalized and comprehensive understanding of Rahu's influence in an individual's horoscope.

9/Nine Planets or Grahas
in Indian Astrology

No.Planet or Graha
1Sun or Surya
2Moon or Chandra
3Mars or Mangal
4Budh or Mercury
5Jupiter or Guru
6Venus or Shukra
7Saturn or Shani